Interviews With Notable Aggregaters, In The Future, Part I

Hello and welcome to what used to be interviews with questionable artists. As we all know, the last artistic activity was documented in 2024. That was 10 years ago. Many people credit one man with the worldwide dismantling of art- that man is Scott Jones. I’ve known Scott for quite some time and I can safely say he was a measly artist and is a groundbreaking re-blogger. Welcome, Scott. It’s great to have you here- you smell fantastic.

Scott: Hi, thanks for having me. It’s good to see you again, you look well.

WJ: Thank you, I’ve been moisturizing. Tell me, Scott, what does the word aggregate mean to you?

Scott: Well, first of all it’s my favorite word. I love the way it rolls off the tongue. To be one who aggregates is to experience life in the most reasonable way. Aggregating is what creating art used to be. Like countless others in the before time, I was a confused, frustrated, and struggling artist. I was working part time at a web design firm, working on my paintings and photography at night. My work wasn’t very original or good, but I had some modest success at a number of local galleries. Most of my friends were pretty similar. Over-educated brats wandering through life pursuing artistic exercises in apathy and self loathing. One day while I was working on a new portrait series in my studio, there was this beautiful model, I forget her name. Anyways- I’m shooting and I’m shooting and my finger just stops. My finger refused to push the shutter down. I tried and tried but my body was physically rejecting art. At first I was mortified, but the feeling faded. I had one of those holy fuck moments when you feel like you might have just figured it all out.

WJ: What did you figure out?

Scott: That there’s no point in making anything anymore, but that’s not a bad thing.

WJ: How’s that?

Scott: Creation cannot reconcile itself with the modern world. It stresses us out, makes us search inside ourselves- digging for something that probably isn’t there. Do you remember how miserable we were? Our generation wasn’t meant to create, we’re here to aggregate, to recycle, to re-blog, to share. There are too many images in the world- why create more? I think we can all agree we feel much better now. Think back to when we had just met each other. You were toiling away, trying to think of ideas, being disappointed comparing yourself to those you admire, drinking a lot, etc…

WJ: Yeah. It’s funny how it all seems so silly now, writing, music…

Scott: And one day, I convinced you to stop. You gave up your blog and began your life as a literary quote collector. Your friends loved the quotes you found. They never could guess where you found them. Everyone liked you better, including you. You were happy. I freed you from the old consciousness and brought you into the new.

WJ: And I thank you for that. Soon after your encounters with me, your ideas began to spread at an exponential speed. Describe that procress.

Scott: Well I was living in New York, at the time where there was a thriving art scene. I was starting to develop my ideas in my head, I was finally convincing artists to quit, I was spending most of my day re-blogging. I started my masters in art history at NYU and my thesis eventually manifested itself into my first and last book, The Crime of Creation, The Ecstasy of Collection. It’s a manifesto for a new generation. The basic premise is that those who create are sick inside. The pain they feel at times comes from their selfish desire to create something that is inherently theirs, it’s a cry for attention- a deep seated childish seed they have in their heads. In the aggregate life, all the images in the world belong to everyone else. Our self worth is an infinite web that connects us to each other.

WJ: You did not write a second book. Why not?

Scott: It was hard enough to write one book, I mean- that’s creation. I make myself sick enough having written one book. But I really did need a vehicle for my message, so I guess it was a necessary evil. Without the money to publish my book, I posted it on Noodlr and that was that. 450 million re-blogs later art is dead and everyone is happy.

  1. January 31st, 2011

Leave a Reply

